End of Season Review 2011-2012

May 20, 2012

Firstly, sorry, but couldn’t think of any clever name for this post, so it is what it is.

Chelsea have just won the Champions League, and that sums up this season and the state of football in the Premier League. What do I mean?

Ashley Cole said at the end that this was the reasons he joined Chelsea from Arsenal. And I am so glad he left. Arguably this makes Chelsea this most succesful English club this season, won 2 of 4 possible trophies. One domestic and the biggest European one of all.

These echo Samir Nasri’s comments not that long ago after they won the title. And I am glad he left too. But this really says something about the state of football.

Before I go any further, I want to congratulate the real long-suffering Chelsea and Man City fans who have waited such a long time for success. I know some who have kind of had their interest killed by the way their teams have achieved their success, but I say to them, it is not your fault that footballers and their teams have sold out to money. Enjoy the success for what it’s worth.

And herein lies the dilemma for real Gooners. Do we want our club to go down that route just to win trophies? Do we want players who profess an undying love for the club and claim to be childhood fans playing for this team, then jump ship and bad-mouth their beloved club “to win trophies”?

Because if we do, Usmanov is waiting in the wings and I’m pretty sure he’ll jump at the chance to do the same. I for one rather we never come anywhere close to what the Blues and the Sky Blues have become. This is something all real Gooners have to think carefully about.

Oh, and incidently, I would argue that we had a better season than ManU who humilated us 8-2. And Bayern too, if you ask me. I’ll share more later. Suffice it to say if I could only choose between their season and ours without ever the hope of first, I would choose ours, every season.

Leave a comment